The International Rail Transport Committee (CIT) is an association of about 216 railway undertakings and shipping companies which provide international passenger and/or freight transport services. About 136 organisations are members in their own right; about 80 organisations are linked indirectly by being members of the CIT associate members. The CIT is an association under Swiss law and is based in Bern.

The CIT works closely with the OSJD on joint projects to make transport law regimes for traffic between Europe and Asia interoperable. More information on the groups working on these projects is available by clicking: passenger traffic or freight traffic .

The Executive Committee is responsible for operational and administrative management of the CIT. It has the following tasks:

  • making the arrangements for meetings of the General Assembly;
  • preparing the Annual Accounts and the Budget;
  • approving the Annual Report;
  • expressing views on drafts of international rail transport law;
  • fixing the conditions of service of the staff and laying down the financial regulations;
  • supervising the management of the Secretary General.

The Executive Committee comprises nine members at most and is composed in a representative way. The CIT Chairman is a member as of right. The Executive Committee meets twice a year as a rule (in April and in September).

Jean-Luc Dufournaud

CIT Chairman

Société Nationale des Chemins de fer Français (SNCF)
Directeur de l’Ethique et de la Déontologie

Maria Sack

Deputises for the Chairman

Deutsche Bahn AG
Leiterin Team Internationale Verbände Verkehrspolitik Europa (GWE)

Alberto Gallo

Direzione Affari Legali e Societari

Nevin Kaygisiz

Türkiye Cumhuriyeti Devlet Demiryollari (TCDD)
Chef adjointe de section tarifs et accords internationaux

Platon Guryanov

RZD - Russian Railways

Leiter Rechtsdienst internationale Beziehungen

Gerald Wieser

Rail Cargo Austria AG
Abteilungsleiter Schadens- und Versicherungsmanagement

Maria Urbańska

Stv. Abteilungsleiterin Internationale Fragen

Aikaterini Vitou

Head of International Cooperation

The General Secretariat manages the CIT. It is composed of eleven staff members and has the following tasks:

  • implementing the decisions of the General Assembly and the Executive Committee;
  • making the arrangements for the meetings of the Executive Committee;
  • preparing the Annual Report, the Annual Accounts and Budget for presentation to the Executive Committee;
  • convening and taking part in meetings of committees and working groups.

Cesare Brand

Secretary General

Telephone: +41 (0)31 350 01 93
Fax: +41 (0)31 350 01 99

Erik Evtimov, Dr. iur.

Deputy Secretary General

Telephone: +41 (0)31 350 01 97
Fax: +41 (0)31 350 01 99

Isabelle Oberson, lic. iur.

Senior Legal Adviser

Passenger traffic

Telefon: +41 (0)31 350 01 98
Fax: +41 (0)31 350 01 99

Sandra Dobler

Junior Legal Adviser

Passenger traffic

Telefon: +41 (0)31 350 04 80
Fax: +41 (0)31 350 01 99

Jan Svensson


Passenger traffic

Téléphone : +41 (0)31 350 01 91
Fax : +41 (0)31 350 01 99

Nina Scherf

Legal Adviser

Freight traffic, Use of infrastructure

Telephone : +41 31 350 01 94
Mobile : +41 79 954 44 74

Dariia Scarlino


Freight traffic, RID, CIM/SMGS

Telefon : +41 (0)31 350 01 96
Fax: +41 (0)31 350 01 99

Katja Siegenthaler

Administrative Assistant

CIT member services – accounting – human resources

Telephone: +41 (0)31 350 01 92
Fax: +41 (0)31 350 01 99

Laurence Nicolet

Administrative Assistant

Communication - CIT-Info - Website

Telefon: +41 (0)31 350 01 90
Fax: +41 (0)31 350 01 99

Tetyana Payosova

Legal Adviser

Data Protection

The committees are competent to adopt provisions on the implementation and application of international rail transport law in a standardised and practical way (in order to produce CIT documentation). To do that, the General Assembly delegates powers to them. The committees are composed in a representative way.

CIV Committee (passenger traffic)

Carmen Filipescu


Regiotrans-transport de calatori pe calea ferata (Regiotrans s.r.l.)
International Affairs Director

Enrico Trapazzo

Deputises for the Chair

FS - TRENITALIA S.p.A. - Gruppo Ferrovie dello Stato Italiane
DALS - Legale Passeggeri - Il Responsabile

CIM Committee (freight traffic)

Jean-Marie Sié

Deputises for the Chair

SNCF GEODIS - Département juridique, Pôle ferroviaire
Directeur du département juridique

CUI Committee (use of infrastructure)

Adriaan Hagdorn


Nederlandse Spoorwegen
Legal Counsel

Multimodality Committee

Maria Kalimeri


ATTICA GROUP (Blue Star Ferries & Superfast Ferries)
Railway Key Account Manager

Working groups are responsible for preparing recommendations for decisions by the committees.
Their members are chosen for their skills in the area in question.

CIV Working Group (passenger traffic)

Isabelle Saintilan


SNCF Voyages

CIM Working Group (freight traffic)

Jean-Marie Sié


SNCF GEODIS - Département juridique, Pôle ferroviaire
Directeur du département juridique

"Multimodality" Working group

Erik Evtimov


Deputy Secretary General to the CIT

Groups of experts are constituted to examine specific issues. Their members are specialists in the topic in question.

Group of PRR Experts

Isabelle Oberson


General Secretariat CIT
Senior Legal Adviser

"Seals" Group of Experts

Fabienne Vaisson



Responsable Affaires douanières

"CIM/SMGS" Legal group / group of Experts

Erik Evtimov


Deputy Secretary General to the CIT

"CIV/SMPS" Working Group

Erik Evtimov


Deputy Secretary General to the CIT